Posted by
Judy Doyle

update on reinspections

If you have water shut off and pipes drained prior to the BG FREEZE. My plumber is saying rather than turning water on for a day or two and then having it inspected. Have a plumber come out, he will turn water on at meter, and put a meter on the line to test for leaks. That way if you do have a leak and you are not at the house you will not have major damages to explain. to you seller. AND you sure do not want to have to tell the seller you made a mistake and how are you going to pay for your mistake?

Post an Answer
Report Abuse:
Click Here
Asked by
Consumer
Status
Open

update on reinspections

By Judy Doyle   
Posted on Feb 23, 2021 in Topic: General
Add to Favorites
 
If you have water shut off and pipes drained prior to the BG FREEZE. My plumber is saying rather than turning water on for a day or two and then having it inspected. Have a plumber come out, he will turn water on at meter, and put a meter on the line to test for leaks. That way if you do have a leak and you are not at the house you will not have major damages to explain. to you seller. AND you sure do not want to have to tell the seller you made a mistake and how are you going to pay for your mistake?
Status: Open
Viewed: 433
Asked by: Consumer
Posted: 2 months ago
Topic: General
Report Abuse: Click Here
Bronze
Michelle N. Briggs
about 2 months ago
Good morning Judy, are you a Realtor in the Magnolia area? I was a little confused by your question however if you are a Realtor, reach out to your Broker. We were lucky at our personal home, we turned off water, drained all pipes (left town) and came back Sunday, turned water back on and thankfully no broken pipes. I hope that this response find you not having any major issues and it all worked out.


about 2 months ago
Bronze
Judy Doyle
about 2 months ago
This is a very important measure to take.


about 2 months ago
Gold
James Meador
about 1 month ago
Hi Judy! Aren't you a realtor? You posted as a consumer. LOL It happens! This is great advice. I would add that if you turn your water off at the meter, be sure to drain your pipes completely by leaving your faucets running until the water is all out. That way, there will be nothing in them to freeze. If you just turn the water off, there will still be water in the pipes that can freeze. The best route to go in deep freeze weather is turn the water off at the meter, run the faucets until nothing comes out, and then turn the water back on after the temps get back up above freezing. Thankfully, this is something we don't have to deal with too often in Texas!


about 1 month ago
Diamond
Christopher Dayanand
about 1 month ago
Good advise.


about 1 month ago
Diamond
Joe Applewhite
about 3 weeks ago
Excellent Idea. My wife wanted to turn all the water off. Bad idea.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Pauline Clement
about 3 weeks ago
Any advice on how we can make sure to have water and operable pipes and in the best routinely fashion is great advice. Thanks


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Jennifer Johnston
about 2 weeks ago
HI Judy this is great advice thank you for sharing so that we can share with others!!


about 2 weeks ago
Disclaimer: Answers provided are just opinions and should not be accepted as advice.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Find a Pro

Search Real Estate Professionals

Advertisement