Posted by
Yasmin Toro

At what point can inspection of home take place?

Currently looking to relocate to TX from PR and not sure how and when in the process inspection of the home take place. Construction is totally different from PR and I'm afraid to buy a home with issues.

Post an Answer
Report Abuse:
Click Here
Asked by
Consumer
Status
Open

At what point can inspection of home take place?

By Yasmin Toro   
Posted on Jan 24, 2020 in Topic: Home Buying
Add to Favorites
 
Currently looking to relocate to TX from PR and not sure how and when in the process inspection of the home take place. Construction is totally different from PR and I'm afraid to buy a home with issues.
Status: Open
Viewed: 777
Asked by: Consumer
Posted: 3 weeks ago
Report Abuse: Click Here
Bronze
Priya Kurup
about 3 weeks ago
Hello, it is important to have a realtor guide you the process, please feel free to reach me at KurupKeys.com for more information!


about 3 weeks ago
Gold
Yvonne Chauvin
about 3 weeks ago
Hi Jasmin

In Texas you get the home inspected during an "Option Period" (depending on what you and your agent negotiate, it could be anywhere from 2-10 days; in most cases buyers ask for 7-10 days).
That's when you negotiate repairs as well.

During the Option Period is when you- as a buyer- have an unrestricted right to terminate the contract for any reason.

Having an experienced Realtor working on your behalf is free to you- the Buyer, so I hope you won't go into this alone; rather have someone who is an expert help you.
Thank you,

Yvonne Chauvin- REALTOR®
MCNE, CNE
Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate Gary Greene
YvonneChauvin@yvonnechauvin.com
Cell: 281-686-0143


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Nancy DeMatteo
about 3 weeks ago
Home inspection can take place during the option period. This starts once the contract is executed and option fee and earnest money have been delivered.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Arfacxad Cabrera
about 3 weeks ago
As soon as the home is under contract you are allowed to do an inspection. This will most likely be under the Option Period. Most Realtors like for the Option Money to be paid first but you can still do the Inspection even before you pay the Option Money.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Frederick Richards
about 3 weeks ago
When a contract has been signed option and earnest money is turned in within the 3 days of signing the contract. The 10 option period start immediately after and there should and need to be an licensed home inspector in the home right after 281-782-6845 More Questions.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Naheshae Davis
about 3 weeks ago
Hi Yasmin,

Yvonne is correct. The inspection of a home can take place as soon as the last party (typically the seller) has signed the contract agreeing to all terms. You will have 7-10 days from this point (known as your option period) to have the inspection completed and repair requests negotiated. Hope this helps!



about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Maria Durham
about 3 weeks ago
Texas Contracts allow for you to enter a purchase agreement with an Option Period. You will pay a nominal amount for an agreed number of days during which you will do inspections and due diligence. You will negotiate repairs and if Buyer and Seller agree you will move forward. If not, you can withdraw from the contract and only lose the Option Fee.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Claire Moore
about 3 weeks ago
This is a great question and very important to the process of buying a home. During the option period Is the best time to have the inspection done. Therefore if you cannot negotiate anything that comes out of the inspection you're still in your option. Where you can back out and receive your earnest money back. If you need more clarification, please feel free to call me please, at 832-250-8765


about 3 weeks ago
Silver
Eboni Taylor
about 3 weeks ago
Well welcome to Texas. You will have an option period normally your first 10 days from the time the contract is signed, to get the inspection done and contact any contractors that you would like to evaluate any issues that arose or maybe you want to see if the house will be able to accommodate a pool or an addition to the home. You can theoretically do your inspection anytime, but during the option period you can walk away with your earnest money and only have lost your option fee check, normally $100, and whatever the costs of the inspection is and move on with out being obligated to that house. After the option period there are only few very specific reasons that you can back out of buying the house.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Tammy Webster
about 3 weeks ago
During the option period just after contract execution


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Sherry Lemons
about 3 weeks ago
Home inspection take place during the option period. Typically a 10 day period that starts when the contract is executed and option fee and earnest money have been delivered.if you have any further questions, give me a call Sherry 281-746-5088


Source:


Har

about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
The home inspection usually takes place shortly after the seller accepts the buyer's offer. Once the purchase agreement has been signed by both parties, the house goes into escrow. This is typically when the home inspection takes place.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Al Mesrahi
about 3 weeks ago
Do inspection right after you have contact executed so you have ample time to do discoveries regarding your inspection and negotiations for repairs.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Rosa Burk
about 3 weeks ago
Do not be afraid, we are here to help you.
I will guide you through the process, to have a stress-free transaction.
How does it work:
With me as a real estate agent; We choose some houses to visit, we will select the house that visually seems to be in the best conditions, we will present an offer, when the offer is approved, you will have 10 days to carry out all the necessary inspections to know the conditions of the property; such as; General, Termite, Foundation, Hydraulics, which will provide you with professional reports on the conditions of the property. At this point you should not be afraid, after reviewing the reports, we could;
 1 -Request the owner to repair the problems found in the property, and proceed with the purchase.
b.-If there are some things that will cause a large amount of money to repair or cause damage to your health, we can withdraw the offer without any legal consequences,
it's that easy.
Call if you need more information, I will work for you in a professional, respectful, and private way, that you deserve.

Rosa Burk
832-265-4242
rosa@rosaburk.us.com


Source:


Har education, Champion schools of Real Estate education, personal research, many years of experience in this business.

about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Melinda Gordon
about 3 weeks ago
Inspection can take place during the option period.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Asmitaben Bhavsar
about 3 weeks ago
option period.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Elizabeth Ferrari
about 3 weeks ago
The home inspection should be done after the EXECUTION of the contract and well before the end of the Option Period. I hope this helps.


about 3 weeks ago
Silver
Penny Clissold
about 3 weeks ago
The inspection is done during your option period. This is normally 10 days but can be whatever your realtor negotiated. You want to have inspections ASAP in case there are issues you have time to get quotes from contractors.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Stef Powers
about 3 weeks ago
Hola, Yasmin. Welcome to Texas. Inspection can only take place AFTER you have made an offer on a house and the Seller has accepted that offer. Your contract/offer will have been written by a competent Texas licensed agent and will include a 7-10 day (typical) Option Period for you to have time to inspect--and have a professional inspect--the home you intend to buy. If you don't like the results of the inspection, you can walk away from the contract as long as it's within the window of time (again, typically 7-10 days) stated in your contract.

There is NO guarantee that an inspector will uncover everything that could be wrong with a home---that's just how it is. There are major issues and minor ones. Your first "line of defense" or "screening" is to have a competent buyer's agent representing you---someone who knows the red flags to watch for and will alert you before you even consider making an offer on a home. For example, here in Houston you want to pay particular attention to foundations, prior foundation work, and previous intake of water. Working with an exclusive buyer's agent you can be assured you will get the best "pre-screening" the industry has to offer.

I don't care how much clients think the house is "a wonderful fit" for them---if I see a red flag and they insist to see the house, I drop them as a client. Again, there are no guarantees, but you can be assured I won't show you a home I know or suspect to have problems---and no licensed agent should do so either. Unfortunately, that is not the reality. Have you heard the phrase, 'Buyer beware"? Whom you choose to represent you in the purchase of a home is the greatest factor in determining your success and satisfaction with the purchase of a home.

Find the right agent, find the right home, and then your agent will refer you to a licensed inspector....and your worries will melt away. I can find the right home for you in Texas in no time.


Source:


https://www.trec.texas.gov/public/consumer-information\nhttps://www.trec.texas.gov/public/frequently-asked-questions (scroll down to Inspection section)\nhttps://www.helpubuyamerica.com/stef-powers-exclusive-buyers-agent/\n

about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Diane Peters
about 3 weeks ago
After offer is accepted and doing the option.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Gayle Wooten
about 3 weeks ago
Welcome to Texas! It is important that you work with one Realtor who gets to know what is most important to you and is dedicated to representing only you. Any of us are happy to talk with you to explain how important this is in Texas. As most have pointed out, you can buy an option period during which you have inspections done to help identify hidden problems with a property. Sometimes, sellers have inspections done prior to putting their house on the market and that information may be available to you as well. And something I did not see mentioned that is rare - if the seller agrees, you can do an inspection of the property prior to writing a contract. It is definitely not the norm, but I have done it when someone had a particular concern. Good luck in your search and I would be happy to talk with you further about your plans, needs, and wish-list.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Jessica Dillard
about 3 weeks ago
The best time to have an inspection done is as soon as possible after getting into contact, during your option period. That way if something comes up on the inspection that you don’t like There’s plenty of time to have the seller make necessary repairs or negotiate.



Source:


Myself

about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Don Davis
about 3 weeks ago
Option Period Preferrably!


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Michelle Murray
about 3 weeks ago
During the option period


about 3 weeks ago
Silver
Doris Snipp
about 3 weeks ago
You can choose to have an inspector follow the construction from the pouring of the slab through walk through or you can choose to have the home done prior to the first walk through after completion. Both are effective. I prefer from the beginning as once completed no one can see inside the walls, under the flooring, etc. The beginning with the slab pour and framing, sub floor are important to the look of the finished product as well as maintaining the integrity of the home. Level flooring, no leaks, no squeaks, no bowed walls, windows and doors in plumb. I could go on and on, but you get the picture


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Helen Myles
about 3 weeks ago
Inspection for a home is during the Option Period.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Khang Nguyen
about 3 weeks ago
When option period starts you should get the inspection. Normally between 7-10days option period.


about 3 weeks ago
Bronze
Steven Montgomery
about 3 weeks ago
A home inspection may take place at any point during the executed contract (when both parties have signed). Assuming you have paid for an unrestricted right to terminate (also known as an option period), it is advisable to have the home inspected quickly and thoroughly by a licensed inspector in order to negotiate repairs. In the case of new construction, you will want to have every phase of the home building process inspected.
There are many different scenarios that may take place in every circumstance of the home buying process and the reality is that it looks quite different than HGTV. Please know that a real estate professional that works for you-not the seller-is your best ally and can help guide and advise you through the process as well as handle negotiations, and the great news is that in most cases it doesn’t cost you anything!
Please feel free to reach out to me any time, I am happy to help in any way!

Kind regards-
Steve Montgomery
KW Premier
281-387-6913


about 3 weeks ago
Diamond
Cagdas Acar
about 3 weeks ago
Hi Yasmin, Welcome to Texas. Inspection takes place depending on the house built or being built. If you buy from dirt which means house to be built, you can get it inspected in every stage of construction, which is mainly before and after pouring slab, framed, sheet rocked, and final completion. For an existing house it will be during option period, which is the time your offer has been accepted and you asked a period of time to conduct your due diligence. This period is usually 7 to 10 days. Inspections are conducted by real estate inspectors. Real estate inspectors are also certified by TREC Texas real estate commission just like real estate agents. Contact me, I would love to assist you in your home buying process.

Regards

Cagdas Acar
Msc PSA CPE VLB
acarster@gmail.com
832-283-1091



about 3 weeks ago
Platinum
Holly Montalbano
about 2 weeks ago
Not before you have a contract signed by the seller or else another buyer could come along and your money and effort would be wasted. It's a good idea to act quickly once the contract is executed. If an option period or inspection period is in the contract, you will want time to negotiate repairs. If there is not an inspection period, it's still better to have adequate time to have the builder make corrections or call in qualified experts. Not all contracts have the possibility of an option period.


about 2 weeks ago
Bronze
Mary Zavala
about 2 weeks ago
An inspection of a home takes place after a contract has been executed, signed by both the seller and buyer. On the contract is an option period that allows you time to schedule an inspection. Usually on the contract you have 7 to 10 days to complete the inspection. Call Me 832-939-1701


about 2 weeks ago
Bronze
Richard Ortiz
about 3 days ago
When purchasing a home, you first go through an option period, which is when inspections take place. The period allows you to terminate the transaction based on your finding. I've owned and sold my home in PR and have also relocated to TX from NY.


about 3 days ago
Disclaimer: Answers provided are just opinions and should not be accepted as advice.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Find a Pro

Search Real Estate Professionals

Advertisement