Meet the Chairman

John Nugent
Chairman of the Board
Houston Association of REALTORS®

It is an honor and a privilege to serve as your HAR Chairman of the Board for 2020. Four decades in, my passion for the real estate business has not waned in the least. In fact, I think this may be the most exciting and rewarding time to work in real estate. With a membership that is 40,000 strong, I suspect that many of you would agree. I am also incredibly proud of the work that HAR does throughout the year to promote the industry and develop new tools to benefit members and consumers.

The Houston market showed incredible resilience coming back from the devastation of Hurricane Harvey to achieve a record year in 2017 and top that in 2018. And the pace of sales and rentals hasn’t let up. As I write this letter, we are on track for another record year in 2019. I think I speak for all of us when I say that after Harvey and the recent close call we had with Tropical Storm Imelda, this is no small achievement. It speaks to the dedication and commitment of all of us to promote home ownership, as well as our love for the greater Houston area that we call home.

I have no crystal ball to foresee what challenges lie ahead of us in 2020. But with the job growth that our market has experienced following Harvey, and overall economic stability, I am confident that Houston will remain an attractive destination in the new year.

With that said, I am thrilled to announce that for the 17th consecutive year, the HAR Board of Directors has voted to leave the current dues level unchanged! Yes. Your HAR membership will not cost one cent more in 2020!

As more real estate markets across Texas take advantage of the listing benefits of, the HAR Technology team continues to roll out new tools and innovations making access to real estate and lifestyle information easier and more portable than ever for members and consumers. These are tools and innovations that always have the industry closely watching (and emulating) HAR.

Only with the strength and support of every one of our 40,000 residential and commercial members can we remain a successful and impactful REALTOR® community, so I personally thank each and every one of you for membership in YOUR Association. This Association only exists thanks to YOUR participation, so please be assured that HAR is here to support you throughout 2020 and beyond.