Did you buy a home in Montgomery County, TX in 2019? Now is the time for filing your homestead exemption to the Montgomery County Appraisal District
You have until April 30th, 2020 to submit this exemption form. This is a one-time filing and it will stay with the property as long as this home is your primary residence. If you miss the deadline you will have to wait until next year to file. Also, when filing your federal income taxes, you may need to refer to your closing statement that you received with your closing papers. It is also called HUD statement and may have some pertinent information for you including perhaps some closing costs deductions you might take. When filing your Homestead exemption, you will also need to provide a copy of your Texas driver’s license or Texas State issued identification card with your application. The address shown on each document must be the same as the address for which the Homestead Exemption is sought. Anyone over 65 or disabled may be apply for special exemptions however the exemption request requires the “Affidavit” portion of the form notarized.
Click on the link below for the required form to be mailed with a copy of your driver’s license to the address indicated. You may also follow the link below the address if you would like additional information.
Montgomery County Homestead Exemption Form
Montgomery County Appraisal District
PO BOX 2233
Conroe, TX 77305-2233
Montgomery County Central Appraisal District
A homestead exemption removes part of the value of your property from taxation and therefore lowers the amount of your property taxes. Your home qualifies for an exemption if 1) you own it, and 2) it is your principal place of residence in January, when the county assesses annual property taxes. The amount of the exemption depends on state and county laws.
You should file your regular residential homestead exemption application between January 1 and April 30. Early applications will not be accepted. If your application is postmarked by April 30, this will allow the district time to process it before your tax statement comes out in the fall.
Homestead exemptions remove part of your home's value from taxation, so they lower your taxes. For example, your home is appraised at $100,000, and you qualify for a $25,000 exemption (this is the amount mandated for school districts), you will pay school taxes on the home as if it was worth only $75,000. Taxing units have the option to offer a separate exemption of up to 20 percent of the total value.
These requirements must be met to receive the exemption: You must own your home on January 1 of the year for which you are applying. You must reside at the home as your principal residence on January 1 of that year and not claim any other property as homestead. Only individual homeowners (not corporations or other entities) may receive a homestead exemption. A homestead can be a house, condominium, or a manufactured home. It can include up to 20 acres, if the land is also owned by the homeowner and used as a yard or for another purpose related to the residential use of the home.
How to Apply for a Homestead Exemption?
Your Homestead Exemption will be denied unless all of the required documents show the same homestead address. First, fill out the application specific to your county appraisal district, then mail all of the documents to the appraisal district for your county.
Benefits to filing a homestead exemption:
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Melissa King at (214)683-0254 or email@example.com
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it with others.