Newsroom Your source for news and information about the Houston Association of REALTORS®

Media Contacts

Public Relations Manager
3693 Southwest Freeway
Houston, TX. 77027
Phone: 713-629-1900 x258
Chief Communications Officer
3693 Southwest Freeway
Houston, TX. 77027
Phone: 713-629-1900 x155



HOUSTON — (April 10, 2012) — The Houston Association of REALTORS® (HAR) Board of Directors has announced its decision to support the following candidates in the May 29 primary election:


District 3: Robert Nichols
District 4: Tommy Williams
District 6: Mario Gallegos Jr.
District 7: Dan Patrick
District 11: Larry Taylor*
District 13: Rodney Ellis
District 15: John Whitmire
District 17: Joan Huffman
District 19: Glenn Hegar


District 3: Cecil Bell Jr.*
District 15: Rob Eissler
District 16: Brandon Creighton
District 18: John Otto
District 23: Craig Eiland
District 24: Dr. Greg Bonnen*
District 26: Jacquie Chaumette*
District 27: Ron Reynolds
District 28: Dr. John Zerwas
District 29: Ed Thompson*
District 85: Lee Duggan*
District 126: Patricia Harless
District 127: Dan Huberty
District 128: Wayne Smith
District 129: John Davis
District 130: Allen Fletcher
District 131: Alma Allen
District 132: Bill Callegari
District 133: Jim Murphy
District 134: Sarah Davis
District 135: Gary Elkins
District 137: Gene Wu*
District 138: Dwayne Bohac
District 139: Sylvester Turner
District 140: Armando Walle
District 141: Senfronia Thompson
District 142: Harold Dutton Jr.
District 143: Ana Hernandez Luna
District 144: Mary Ann Perez*
District 145: Carol Alvarado
District 146: Borris Miles
District 147: Garnet Coleman
District 148: Jessica Farrar
District 149: Hubert Vo
District 150: Debbie Riddle

NOTE: Those candidates with an asterisk next to their names are running in an open seat, either because it is a newly-drawn district, or the current elected official is not seeking re-election


“The 2013 Legislative Session is going to be tough for Texas and it is important that the REALTOR® voice be heard,” said HAR’s 2012 Political Affairs Advisory Group Chair, John Nichols of Prudential Premier Properties. “REALTOR® volunteers have worked industriously to interview and recommend this slate of REALTOR®-friendly candidates who want to protect private property rights. We encourage everyone to please take a few minutes of their day to go to the polls and vote in this year's primary election.  One vote can truly make a difference, as we have proven in the past.  We ask all of our REALTORS® to do their part and vote.”


The primary elections, including county, state and federal candidates, will take place on Tuesday, May 29. The deadline to register to vote in that election is Monday, April 30.


Houston-area REALTORS® are involved in the political process at all levels, promoting policies and supporting candidates who advocate for private property rights and home ownership in the greater Houston area, including Brazoria, Fort Bend and Montgomery Counties. Electing lawmakers who understand homeowners’ concerns and act accordingly is the Association’s top priority.



Founded in 1918, the Houston Association of REALTORS® (HAR) is a 24,000-member organization of real estate professionals engaged in every aspect of the industry, including residential and commercial sales and leasing, appraisal, property management and counseling. It is the largest individual dues-paying membership trade association in Houston as well as the second largest local association/board of REALTORS® in the United States.

Texas Real Estate

Counties Cities Neighborhoods Zip Codes